History of Department of Mines & Geology

 About Us / Department / History of Department
  • The Department of Mines and Geology started functioning under the name and style as “Hyderabad Geological Survey” (HGS) during the year 1921 A.D.
  • The functions of the HGS were: carrying systematic survey, preparation of information on the mineral resources and technical advises on geology and mineral occurrences to Government as well as private persons.
  • Until the year 1951 the functions of geological survey and inspection of mines were carried out both by the Department of Mines and Hyderabad Geological Survey.
  • In the year 1951 within Federal Financial Integration, the Hyderabad Geological Survey was merged with Geological Survey of India.
  • Later the functions of granting of mineral concessions were transferred to Revenue Department. The Department of Mines & Geology was looking after the technical aspects and advising Government on desirability to grant mineral concessions.
  • In 1961,1964 & 1967, State Government established (3) Regional Offices under the charge of Assistant Director of Mines & Geology to look after the mineral activity in the State.
  • Introduction of permit system in the year 1975 made it obligatory on the part of mine owners to pay royalty in advance and obtain permits from respective Assistant Directors of Mines & Geology before transporting minerals from the leased areas.
  • In 1976 - 77, Government sanctioned a scheme of re-organization of the Department wherein mineral regulatory work in respect of both major & minor minerals hitherto under the control of the Revenue Department was transfered to the Department of Mines & Geology.
  • In 1976 - 77, to administer mineral regulatory activity in the State Government established (12) offices of Assistant Directors of Mines & Geology offices and (4) offices of Regional Deputy Director of Mines & Geology offices.
  • After Reorganization of the state and After Reorganization of the District, the promotional, regulatory and collection of mineral revenue in the Telangana State is performed by
    1. Directorate at Hyderabad.
    2. (3) Regional Deputy Directors of Mines & Geology offices at Nizamabad, Warangal and Hyderabad.
    3. (32) District Assistant Director of Mines & Geology Offices each at District Head Quarters.
Copyright © 2020 All rights reserved with Mines & Geology Department , Government Of Telangana
Site Developed & Maintained by Mines & Geology Department , Government Of Telangana
Visitors: 2577734
Version 2.0
Last Updated: March 13, 2023